Posted on

Random Ramblings: The Fault in our Stars (Ch.1-2)

Image

My first thought: that was quick! Running about 15 pages a chapter, its going to be tough not to plow through this book in one go. Luckily, I’ve got one other book I’m reading right now (The Teleportation Accident, very weird, very cool), so I think I’ll be able to stick to the reading schedule.

But seriously, the text is so easy to read. Green writes in a simple, easy to read manner while still holding my interest the entire time.

So far, we’ve been introduced to our protagonist, Hazel, and Augustus Waters, whom it seems like will become Hazel’s love interest. Although both of them are young – in their teens – Green shows us their wiser perspective and deeper understanding of the world around them, which stems from their experiences with cancer. Hazel has terminal cancer, but thanks to some miracle drug, her expiry date has been extended for an unknown period of time. Augustus on the other hand, has had his leg amputated, but seems alright now.

Anyway, another thing: This book is funny! I love the way Green, despite being a male, manages to easily convey Hazel’s complicated female thoughts in an honest manner, which at times are rather hilarious. For example,

“I told Augustus the broad outline of my miracle: diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer when I was thirteen. (I didn’t tell him that the diagnosis came three months after I got my first period. Like: Congratulations! You’re a woman. Now die.”

So, to sum it up, I’m loving this book. That’s about all I’ve got to say now. Now off to sleep!

I’d love it if you left a comment and let my know what you thought about my first attempt at a blog post!

Leave a comment